Minutes of the Ordinary Parish Council Meeting held at 7.30pm on Tuesday 18 June 2019 at the Moorland Hall

Present: Councillors John Anson (Chairman), Eric Clarbull, John Davis, Roger Foxwell, Eric Norman, Roger Webber, Vivian White, Co Cllr Frances Nicholson, SWT Cllr Steven Pugsley, Parish Clerk Nic Kemp, and 2 parishioners

Cllr Anson opened the meeting at 7.30pm

267.1 Public Question Time: (i) Representation made on Rural Worker and Succession Farm Dwelling Guidance document issued by Exmoor National Park de-valuing the main dwelling and stripping assets, thus affecting employment, wages and business. (ii) Was any action taken over the snow plough about which complaints were raised in February?

Cllr Anson responded to (ii), apologising for not contacting the parishioner directly, and confirmed the driver had been spoken to.

Cllr Pugsley joined the meeting.

267.2 Apologies for Absence: None.

267.3 Declarations of Interest: Cllr Clarbull – Item 8.2 – Personal – Chairman of Trustees of Moorland Hall Cllr Webber – Item 9 – Personal – Owner of farming property Cllr Foxwell – Item 6.3 / 8.2 – Personal – Trained SIDS operative / Trustee of Moorland Hall Cllr Anson – Item 8.2 – Personal – Trustee of Moorland Hall

One parishioner left the meeting.

267.4 Minutes of the Previous Meeting: The minutes of the ordinary meeting held on 21 May 2019 were approved and signed by Cllr Anson as a true record. Matters arising: 265.8.1 Clerk confirmed that Mr Williams is not available to give presentation on options of Charitable Trust for Snowdrop Valley, but that he had provided info for Clerk to investigate further.

The minutes of the extra-ordinary meeting held on 11 June 2019 were approved and signed by Cllr Anson as a true record.

267.5 Reports from County and District Councillors: Cllr Nicholson advised she had not made any progress with Long Lane. Clerk to follow up with Cllr Nicholson. Popery Lane has been confirmed as not a highway, but there are markings for repair on it. Cllr Webber reported an ongoing problem with the drain at Bladgon Cross on the Dunkery Road. Cllr Nicholson will follow up. Cllr Pugsley confirmed the ENPA parish reps as Mike Ellicott, Jeremy Holtom, Sarah Takle, Robin Milton and Vivian White. Nick Thwaites, Peter Pilkington, Marcus Cravis and Steven Pugsley are the District Council members. Exmoor Consultative Forum has been reviewed, and some recommendations made. Cllr White to respond to recommendations on behalf of the Council. Cllr Nicholson and Cllr Webber to liaise over any support which can be given to Cutcombe School.

267.9 Rural Worker and Succession Farm Dwelling Guidance: Taken out of order to allow County and District Councillors to contribute.

Complex document – it was agreed to hold discussion for councillors to attend on Friday 21 June, to produce recommendations to be agreed at July meeting.

267.6 Highways and Transport Matters:

267.6.1 – Long Lane – Covered under reports from County Councillor

267.6.1 – Popery Lane – Covered under reports from County Councillor

267.6.3 – SIDS Device – Clerk to confirm to Highways dept that Council is ready to use the SIDS at the 2 agreed locations. Clerk also to confirm process for setting up agreed location in other parishes to allow SIDS device to be used in other areas.

Cllr Anson thanked Cllrs Nicholson and Pugsley, who then left the meeting.

267.7 Planning Applications: None received. 267.7.1 – Other Planning Matters – None

267.8 Finance: It was agreed to pay

267.8.1 - SALC Affiliation fee £111.84

267.8.2 – Moorland Hall £28.25 for April room hire

267.8.3 – Mrs J Stephens c/o Cutcombe School Garden £200 grant to the School Garden.

267.8.4 – Mrs N Kemp Clerk's Salary £938.49 and expenses £122.83.

It was retrospectively agreed to pay:

267.8.5 – Came & Co £709.74 annual insurance

267.8.6 – West Somerset Advice Bureau £50 ex-gratia in lieu of Internal Audit fee

267.10 Portfolio Holders: Cllr Anson proposed Cllr Foxwell take over responsibility for Highways warden. Clerk to notify Highways.

Toilets Working Group to be Cllrs Clarbull, Foxwell and Anson (and the Clerk)

Cllr Anson to take on Prescription and Health

Finance Working Group to be Cllrs Clarbull, Norman and Webber Cllrs Davis and White to jointly hold Housing

Cllrs Davis and Foxwell to jointly hold Youth and Leisure

Standards Committee still being put together. Clerk to ask Cllr Pugsley for update on this, and communicate with Amy Tregellas (Monitoring Officer)

267.11 Items raised at Annual Parish Meeting:

267.11.1 – Website and Communication – Clerk now has ability to update Parish Council pages of website. Road closures can be added for info.

267.11.2 – Areas Council can support within the Community – Possible ideas – road surfaces, hedge trimming, churchyard, driveways damaged by vehicles. Finance Group to propose ideas for future meeting

267.8.3 – Speeding traffic in Cutcombe – Clerk to apply to Highways for a further site in Cutcombe to position the SIDS.

Cllr Anson thanked Cllrs Clarbull, Foxwell and Webber for clearing the area behind the toilets.

267.12 Correspondence and Meetings:

267.12.1 – Clerk's report on correspondence received and meetings attended – Clerk read out a letter from SSAFA on the 75th anniversary of VE day in 2020 and how councils can be involved. Also circulated an invite from Nigel Taylor to the Annual Civic Service.

267.12.2 – Councillors' reports on correspondence received and meetings attended – Cllr Norman reported the Snowdrop Valley

committee had proposed moving the dates one week earlier for 2020, the Clerk and Coordinator had allocated the specific jobs, tenders were being invited from bus companies, AtWest should be able to quote, and there was to be a photographic competition which would be advertised well before the scheme.

267.13 Items for Next Agenda: Report on Consultative Forum

There being no other business the meeting closed at 9.50 pm. The next Ordinary Meeting of Cutcombe Parish Council will be held on Tuesday 16 July 2019 at 7.30pm in the Moorland Hall.